

## South Carolina Certified Public Manager® 2019 Askew Award Winner

The George C. Askew Award is given annually to an individual (or individuals) deemed to have completed an exemplary Certified Public Manager Capstone Project for the year.

It was created by the American Academy of Certified Public Managers<sup>®</sup> to recognize outstanding projects throughout the country and was named in honor of George C. Askew who, by virtue of being the first named called in the first CPM graduation ceremony in Georgia in 1976, became the first individual to be certified by a Certified Public Manager<sup>®</sup> program.

Each CPM Program, through its director, may nominate a capstone project to be given the award for its local program.

## The South Carolina Certified Public Manager Program congratulates the 2019 recipient of the George C. Askew Award, Jason Johnston, District Engineering Administrator, Department of Transportation.

The criteria for selection include that the project should:

- Be innovative in its approach.
- Demonstrate an improvement in quality within the work unit as a result of the project.
- Show cost savings of the result of the implementation of the project.
- Be an outstanding demonstration of CPM principles.

Nathan Strong and Bill Tomes serve as project mentors for the program. They review every project in its entirety and provide feedback and guidance to the CPM candidates. There were many great projects that will positively impact agency processes and the citizens agencies serve. Selecting a winner each year is no small task. About this year's Askew Award winner, Nathan Strong had this to say:

"Jason Johnston's project, Maximizing the Lifespan of Open-Graded Friction Course on South Carolina Highways, addresses an issue that impacts almost all South Carolinians as they travel the state's interstate highways. He used a multi-pronged research approach that included studying Google Earth imagery and field observations while riding the interstates. His project provides recommendations for short term solutions, as well as a wealth of data that his agency can use for further study. Even after submitting his report, Jason has continued research on this issue."

Four graduates were selected to receive an honorable mention for their projects:

Kelly Coakley, South Carolina Department of Administration Jae Mattox, South Carolina Department of Transportation James Posey, South Carolina Election Commission Leah Quattlebaum, South Carolina Department of Transportation

